Skin care

Before the BB Cream says Bye-bye

BB Creams

–Well, not just yet. By the way, this is a long post.  Many of you probably hate text heavy blogs but I really tried to keep this as short as I could. I gave it a good try, though.  Anyway, you’ve been forewarned.

BB creams have been around and quite famous in Asia for a while now however it only started making waves in the US market and the rest of the world last year.

So why is this product making so much buzz? Is it  skin care or makeup? When many women are still trying to figure out this miracle worker, a new wonder product has already popped up. Think of the next letter in the alphabet. Oh yes, the CC cream. Wait. What?!

Multi taskers-Primer/foundation, Moisturizer, SPF

I’ve been getting a lot of questions still from friends around the world who are less adventurous when it comes to cosmetics asking what the BB cream really is. So before the CC cream invasion starts, let me try (just try) to break it down for you. First, the BB cream. I’m sure you’ll find more helpful information online so I’ll be brief.  It’s a crossbreed between skin care and makeup. Like most primers and foundations, it is tinted and available in different shades  and has the consistency of a light moisturizer. It also carries a lot of benefits your skin care product offers. Moisturizing, hydrating, and sun protection.

While most store clerks push the BB cream as a skin care product, I consider it more of a makeup product with extra benefits. It cuts your skin care and makeup process to a minimum skipping all the layers of products on your face.  A great multi-tasker for women on the go.

As for the CC cream, well, you can say it’s the higher version of the BB cream where CC is for Color Correction. It contains all the goodness of the BB cream plus a lot of vitamin C and super anti-oxidants. It corrects skin discoloration due to sun exposure, aging or acne as well as slows down the skin aging process. The CC cream has a much lighter texture than BB cream so it easily blends into the skin making for a natural and smoother finish.

While the CC creams are predominant in other parts of Asia (Japan, China, Korea and Singapore) I’m not sure if it has made its way to the Philippines.  If any of you know, please recommend a trusted brand.  So while I haven’t gotten hold of one yet, let me share to you the BB creams I have in my stash.

KATE Mineral BB Gel Cream
Swatches for KATE Mineral BB Gel Cream
Shades from left to right (OC-B, OC-C, OC-D)

KATE is a popular Japanese drugstore makeup brand of Kanebo.   My sisters and I received the KATE Mineral BB Gel cream + Mineral Loose Foundation as a welcome gift when we arrived in Japan.  We were lucky to get the shade that perfectly matched our skin tones.  This has to be my favorite BB cream so far.  Since it is in gel form, it is very oily skin-friendly. The texture is very light with light to medium coverage so it’s buildable, easily absorbs and leaves a shine free finish covering visible pores. I don’t know how much mineral it contains but mineral sounds goods to me. I use a small amount of the Mineral Loose Foundation just before I head out.  Regrettably, this is not available in the Philippines, yet. Good thing I have a few backups.

VMV Hypoallergenics Skintangible “Faint”ation Skin-Refining Non-Makeup SPF 30

VMV Hypoallergenics Skintangible “Faint”ation Skin-Refining Non-Makeup SPF 30
Swatch for VMV Hypoallergenics Skintangible

This was recommended by our dermatologist so my older sister purchased one of this little glass bottles.  I wasn’t so keen on trying it because it was only available in one shade and a dark one at that. But after reading the package label, I gave it a go.  It’s ultra-light and one shade suits all skin tones. It claims to be BB But Better. It has antioxidants, anti-aging, anti-acne, anti-inflammatory benefits with mineral sun protection.  True enough, it disappears into the skin, leaving a fresh, dewy finish. I use this on days when my hormones are running amok. This retails for 1,050Php.  If you’re looking to sample a safe BB cream, this is a must try.

The Body Shop Moisture White Shiso BB Cream SPF 25

The Body Shop Moisture White Shiso BB Cream SPF 25
Swatch for The Body Shop Moisture White Shiso BB Cream

This is probably the closest thing I have to a CC cream.  Infused with Shiso extract, it lightens skin complexion combatting dark spots, freckles and skin discoloration.  This one has a slightly thicker consistency providing better moisturizing but takes longer to blend.  I was able to use this in Japan during the early spring when the cold weather left my skin dry and dull. This instantly brightened my skin (as it leaves a sort of light tint or film over the skin) making me look fresh without betraying the fact we were running on little sleep. A fair warning: this did not suit my older sister’s skin tone–she’s an OC-D on KATE’s skin shade.  This retails for 1,195Php.

How to apply: Start with a pea size and spread like dots around your face and with light fingers, dab outward.  You can add and build it up. For areas needing more coverage such as the under eye area, nose, blemishes and visible pores, warm it up with your fingers and gently pat until you have a clean finish. You can also use a stippling brush. Finish off with a light powder foundation or translucent powder.

Many BB creams in the market have a grayish shade which is either too light for Filipino skin or leaves an ashy complexion.  And you have to wait for at least 10 minutes before it adjusts to your skin. However, these 3 have very good blendability and have enough shades to match your skin.  BB creams however have light to medium coverage so it can’t fully cover skin imperfections.  It’s best to use a good foundation or concealer on top of the BB cream.

How about you, are you a BB cream user? If not, are you willing to make room for it on your vanity top? What about CC cream, are you ready for it? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

10 thoughts on “Before the BB Cream says Bye-bye

  1. i’m currently using one from The Face Shop! it works awesome on my face🙂 my officemates said i’m blooming! i love it because it made my face smooth and glowing!

  2. I really love CC Cream. They so much better than BB Creams. I use the Rachel K one (neutral shade) and I love it for its coverage and SPF 35++🙂

Leave a Message

