Skin care

My Current Favorites

My current favorites

One of the advantages of having sisters is we get to share each other’s beauty stash.  So while I was going through my stash looking to organize and return some items,  I realized I have gotten quite attached to some and not quite ready to return them yet.  Well, I have some stuff they haven’t returned either so, you know—we love each other like that.

Here are my current favorites and you’ll see a couple of items my sisters have loaned me.

Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm
I love love love this lip balm!  Of all the lips balms I’ve tried, this has got to be the best.  It’s filled with coconut and sunflower oil, for moisturizing.  The beeswax helps lock in hydration and the peppermint extract just leaves your lips cool and feeling pampered.  Going on the Accutane for one year, I had to constantly moisturize my lips because it just dries you out. Skin, hair, lips.  One can probably tolerate dry skin or dry hair but dry lips–it can drive you crazy.  It is not only uncomfortable, but painful.  Licking your lips will only make it worse because the saline in your saliva will leave your lips drier, chapped and cracking and bleeding. Not a pretty sight.  I remember using up 3 different lip balms in 2 months.  I would panic if I didn’t have one handy. So I always keep one with me wherever I go.
 
Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion
Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion

This came in the mail more than a week ago. Hada Labo is a very popular Japanese cosmetic brand.  They sell one of these lotions every 2 seconds.  This facial lotion provides very good hydration and it has controlled the oil production of my skin. I noticed that I’m a lot less oily now.  It has 3 types of Hyaluronic Acid and you can click this link to find out more about their benefits.  I have probably mentioned in one of my previous posst that I’m not a big fan of moisturizers.  They usually come in cream form and I feel that it’s too heavy and makes my skin feel greasy.  So this lotion is perfect because it preserves the skin’s moisture balance and provides amazing hydration without the heavy and greasy feeling. After washing my face with a gentle cleanser using my Clarisonic Mia2, I use 3 drops of the Hada Labo SHA Lotion, apply it on my face, gently patting several times.  You can watch a video demonstration here.

NIVEA SUN Smooth Milk SPF 50

NIVEA SUN Smooth Milk SPF 50

For a tropical country like the Philippines, it is imperative not to skip this part of our skincare regimen. Sunscreen is not only meant for the summer or to keep a fair complexion.  It protects the skin from the sun’s harmful UV rays that burn the skin or worse cause skin cancer and advance the process of skin aging.  In the words of Fran Drescher’s character in the movie The Beautician and the Beat, “rays today, raisins tomorrow”.

I love this sunscreen because it’s lightweight, has a pink tint that doesn’t leaves an annoying white veil most sunscreens do and has a shine free finish. With a high SPF 50, I don’t have to reapply every so often.

L’occitane Verbena Body Lotion (Travel Size) 

L’occitane Verbena Body Lotion (Travel Size)

This was one of the complimentary hotel items from Hotel Celeste –that cute boutique hotel in Makati.  This lotion smells so amazing!  For those of you who are fans of the Vampire Diaries and have always been wondering what the herb Verveine smells like, well this is it.  It’s reminiscent to the smell of lemon grass plus peppermint and honeysuckle–but so much better.  Its smell is soothing and relaxing.  It feels like you’re lounging in a spa.  As you can see, I’m almost out of this little buddy so I have to replenish stat!

 
VMV Hypoallergenics Subtle Shine Strawberry Fields
VMV Hypoallergenics Subtle Shine Strawberry Fields

I love VMV Hypoallergenics.  Their products are safe and non irritant.  This one actually comes from Kaye’s (my younger sister) stash.  I borrowed it 2 months ago and have not returned it since. Hahaha!  This one has a really pretty pink color that just brightens your face.  The satin shine is understated so you won’t feel overly conscious that your lips are crying out for attention.

 KATE Cheek Color S in PK-1
KATE Cheek Color S in PK-1

I got this as a Christmas present and I haven’t been really using it because I was using the Shiseido Maquillage Face Creator, until last spring when I wanted a bright but subtle make up.  For those looking for a blush that’s highly pigminted, this might disappoint you.  It leaves a very light fresh flush just the way I like it.

MAC 130SE Stippling Brush

MAC 130SE Stippling Brush

I pilfered this from Joy’s (older sister) new brush set when she came back from her US trip. This one is small enough to fit in my vanity purse and very easy to handle when I’m applying my BB cream or foundation.  The fiber brush makes for a smooth, clean finish.

The Body Shop GrapeSeed Glossing Serum
The Body Shop GrapeSeed Glossing Serum

This hair serum smells heavenly and leaves your hair moisturized and smooth.  You can apply this on damp or dry hair.  My hair has not been getting the tender loving care it needs.  I have subjected it to several times of hair coloring and heat exposure using the curling/straightening iron leaving it dry and frizzy.  So this serum helps tame the frizziness and brings that healthy shine to my hair. This retails for 650Php.

What are your favorites in your beauty stash? Share in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “My Current Favorites

  1. I love my NARS orgasm lip gloss. It’s so feminine and flirty. Para naman pwede akong magfeeling-feeling-an feminine and flirty LOL!

Leave a Message

