Make-up

Lip Lovin’ Glosses

My current favorite lip glosses

If there’s one makeup item that my makeup kit is never without, it would have to be the lip gloss.  For someone with sensitive and acne prone skin, the lip gloss has always been an affordable luxury item I could freely use without the worries of getting a bad skin rash or pimples.

A simple lip gloss can do so much. It can add color to your face, it can brighten your aura and make you look fresh even under a considerable amount of stress.  So never underestimate the power of the lip gloss.

Here are my current favorites in no particular order.

THE FACE SHOP Fruits Jelly Tube (PP401)

The Face Shop is probably S. Korea’s version of The Body Shop.  Their products use natural ingredients so it’s relatively safe to use.  I first bought this lip gloss in 2006 (oooh, ages ago) on a trip to Korea.  I bought one as a souvenir to give my friends but ended up keeping it for myself. After several years, The Face Shop opened in the Philippines and I’m just happy that they still carry these lip gloss tubes. It’s shimmery and has a nice sheer texture.

Bath and Body Works Liplicious Strawberry Parfait

This was a souvenir gift from Joann on her trip to the US. What I love about this lip gloss is that smells and tastes so good. I’m always tempted to lick my lips off. This has no shimmer but makes your lips look pink fresh.

RIMMEL London Vinyl Gloss (Smitten)

Another souvenir gift from our friend Joe who’s from Liverpool. This one is a combination of nude and coral-pink shades which suits almost all skin tones. It glides on evenly and doesn’t feel sticky.

Victoria’s Secret Dazzle Shine Lip Gloss (Dazzling Sangria)

Don’t let the overpowering red color shock you like I was. And for a while, I didn’t use it as I’m not a big fan of red lipsticks and glosses.  But this has a nice sparkly sheer that sort of just amplifies the natural color of your lips.  And it smells nice too.

Shiseido Maquillage Lip Liquid Rouge (RD791)

The Shiseido Maquillage Lip Liquid Rouge is more than just a lip gloss.  You can trust Japanese technology to add more goodies to a simple lip gloss.  It has hydrating and nourishing properties with the Hyaluronic acid and collagen and it’s supposed to  “memorize the color, shine and shape of your lips“. You can wear this without any lipstick underneath–I guess it’s a lipstick in gloss form. It’s long wearing but feels very pleasant since the texture is non sticky. It also plumps your lips really nice which I like because my lips definitely needs plumping. The RD791 is a nice nude-pink color.

Shiseido Maquillage Lip Liquid Rouge (PK393)

This Shiseido Maquillage Lip Liquid Rouge has a lovely coral shade that instantly brightens the face.  It’s such a happy color that immediately puts you in a good mood.  This is my favorite among the batch.

What’s your favorite lip gloss? Share in the comments below.

* photo effects by pixlr

5 thoughts on “Lip Lovin’ Glosses

  1. how sweet Beejay! you included the lip gloss i gave you🙂 love it! muwahhh🙂 hope in my next trip to the US next year (finger crossed)!

  2. Love the look of the Maquillage one! Very juicy looking… and I agree that I tend to buy lip glosses, lip sticks, eyeshadows and blush alot because I’ve got sensitive skin and stopped buying skincare…

Leave a Message

