Skin care

SOL Dermatology Clinic + Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser Review

SOL Dermatology Clinic

As previously mentioned in my blog somewhere, I regularly visit a dermatologist and I’ve been asked numerous times about it so I thought of sharing a bit about it here.

I suffered from adult acne for a long time and I tried many OTC acne topical medicines but I was beginning to fear that I was losing the battle for clear skin until 2 years go. My friend Grace from way back introduced me to Dr. Sharon Lim. I’ve been to several dermatologists but Dr. Sharon is unlike the other doctors I’ve been to. She is very accommodating and takes the time to answer my queries. I don’t have to sit 2-3 hours in the waiting area or go home with too many unnecessary products. After going regularly for almost 2 years now, my family, friends and I have noticed that my skin has become significantly clearer. I don’t break out much and the post acne hyper pigmentations have considerably faded and can be easily covered with BB cream.

My dermatologist

Anyway, I visited her 2 weeks ago for a check up. Once a month, my sisters and I usually go together for a regular checkup and cleaning, but the last couple of months, we were unable to because of schedule conflicts. I look forward to our monthly visits because I learn more about my skin and how to take care of it.  I was a bit hesitant to let my doctor know that I started a beauty blog afraid that I’ll be advised to stop trying out different beauty products but I was relieved to learn that she was happy with my little project and that I featured dermatologist formulated products such as the VMV Skintangible. Her only advice was not to be reckless and to stick to products suitable for sensitive, oily and acne prone skin. She even gave me a facial cleanser to review.

Derma Essentials

**************************************************************

Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser

Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser

To be honest I was not familiar with the brand Exuviance so I did a little research online and found dermatologist reviews on Dermstore which was a bit too geeky for my liking but certifiable.

The brand Exuviance produced by Neostrata Company is a leader in Polyhydroxy Acid (PHA) technology. Exuviance boasts of their gentle exfoliating skin care line that helps revitalize skin color while treating skin problems  like noticeable signs of aging and acne. Their products are non irritant as it is dermatologist formulated so it’s very safe for all skin types –even very sensitive skin. Exuviance uses alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) technology with other  effective ingredients such as hyaluronic acid, antioxidants, and natural plant and marine essences to achieve that glowing youthful skin.

Back label

I’ve been using this every morning for 2 weeks now and my skin seems to like how it’s really gentle, it effectively removes the surface oil my face produces but without drying it and most importantly, no irritation whatsoever.

Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser

It’s a clear liquid and the viscosity is just right. If you like cleansers that foam up, this one doesn’t so don’t expect a lot of foaming or sudsing. It leaves your skin supple, not tight and noticeably brighter. Just a warning, this product has parabens in the ingredients.  So if you’re avoiding products with such preservatives, then I can’t recommend Exuviance. You don’t really see the list of ingredients on the label. I checked the price at effortlessskin.com and it retails for £23.00. This is probably only available in dermatology clinics in the Philippines.

Overall, the Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser was okay. It didn’t irritate my skin. But I wouldn’t be purchasing it.  I’m using other facial cleansers that perform just as good at a much lesser price.

Do you consult a dermatologist for skin problems? What’s your current facial cleanser? Share in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “SOL Dermatology Clinic + Exuviance Clarifying Facial Cleanser Review

Leave a Message

