Hair care · Skin care

October Haul

October Haul

This month, I dedicated most of my beauty spendings on hair products. I mentioned that my hair has taken quite a beating a few posts back and I realized that I don’t give my hair the same loving attention the way I give my skin so I decided to purchase some hair care products. I also threw in 2 skincare essentials.

Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Conditioner Colorific Plumeria

I colored my hair back to black. My color has grown out and has turned to an unattractive brassy color so I decided to color it black to avoid sporting a dead brassy mop.  I promise I won’t be dying my hair again any time soon.  I went to Healthy Options and got Alba Botanica’s Natural Hawaiian Conditioner Colorific Plumeria because it’s good for color treated hair.  It moisturized my hair well and helped make my hair look healthy. Plus it smells amazing! The scent transports you to a beautiful exotic resort island –it just makes you wanna go online and make travel reservations.

Avalon Organics Lemon Clarifying Shampoo 

I live in a hard water area and I recently found out that hard water damages the hair. Hard water contains high levels of dissolved minerals such as calcium and magnesium and other mineral deposits that form hair build up causing one’s hair to look limp, dry, frizzy, tangly–it can even cause hair breakage. Using hair styling products can also add to hair build up making your hair look dull and greasy and feel weighed down.  To save your hair from such disasters, it’s important to remove the residue and scaly build up that accumulate on your hair.  You can do this several ways: vinegar hair treatment, baking soda hair treatment, using astringent (apparently you can use astringent containing witch hazel on your scalp and strands) or using a good clarifying shampoo on a regular basis–not everyday but once or twice a week.

The Avalon Organics Lemon Clarifying Shampoo is free from parabens, sulfates, silicon and uses certified organic ingredients. the citrus scent is really nice and even though I’ve only used it twice, my hair felt lighter after. I got mine from Healthy Options in Alabang Festival Mall.

Andalou Naturals Rich Moisture Styling Cream Sweet Orange and Argan

Soft flexible styling with improved texture and manageability. Conditions and restores damaged, dehydrated strands, controls static and shields against humidity, frizz and flyaways. Color safe style for straight or curly hair.

I wasn’t really looking to buying a hair styling cream. I was actually going for my second tube of Alba Botanica’s Leave In Conditioner but was disappointed to learn it was out of stock. So I thought of trying Andalou Naturals’ Rich Moisture Styling Cream Sweet Orange and Argan.  The scent of sweet orange is candy sweet and the texture is quite rich so go easy on the application. I can already see that it’s gonna be a long time before we see this on my empties post.

Organix Brazilian Keratin Therapy Flat IronSpray

I have to admit that I have been curling and flat ironing my hair all this time without using any heat protectant for 2 reasons: 1. I didn’t know I should be using one 2. Heat protectants are not readily available in the Philippines.  I was gonna order off ebay but I found this while browsing through Watsons Megamall two weekends ago and I thought I’d give it a go.

As I’m in the process of healing my hair back to health, I don’t plan on using the curling/flat iron frequently.  But when the need arises for me to style my hair using heat styling tools, I can now properly protect my hair.

Stiefel’s DUAC Gel 10g

Stiefel’s DUAC Gel 10g

This is a great zit zapper. You probably saw an empty tube of DUAC in my first empties post so I decided to replenish my supply.

Liole’s Water Drop BB Cream

Lioele’s Water Drop BB Cream

I have to admit that I don’t really need another BB cream but I saw a lot of beauty bloggers used Lioele’s Water Drop BB Creamso even before I started blogging. When I found out that they were already available in the Philippines, I decided to get one. And the beauty gurus were right. It suits all skin tones, has moisturizing and hydrating properties and has a very smooth, natural and dewy finish. Don’t expect coverage though because the consistency is very light. If you want a polished but natural look, this is definitely worth a try. This has become one of my favorite BB creams. I purchased mine at the Lioele booth in St. Francis Square.

What beauty products did you get this month? Share in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “October Haul

  1. Hi BJ! Great post😀 I’m actually planning to color my hair really soon…what shampoo or conditioner did you use when you colored your hair?

    1. Thanks May! I’m using the Nature’s Gate Fruit Blend Mandarin Orange and Patchouli shampoo and conditioner. It helps maintain the color. But I’ll be trying the Alba Botanica shampoo since I got their conditioner.🙂

Leave a Message

