Beauty Box · Skin care

A Clean Start

OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel Review1

Hello 2013! A new year means we can start afresh and start right. As with beauty, it’s important to start your skincare or makeup routine with a clean face. And for that you need a good cleanser. Looking for a good cleanser has not been easy as I have tried a lot. What makes a good cleanser anyway? For me, it’s not just about removing dirt, oil and make-up.  As we age, I realized that we’ll face more skin issues and in my case it’s not just adult acne. I need a cleanser that doesn’t dry out my skin leaving it old and dull looking and causing my oil glands to act up. A cleanser that can hydrate and won’t strip my skin of its natural moisture. A cleanser that won’t leave my skin tight and shiny but supple and radiant. And lastly, a cleanser that gently lifts off dead skin cells to reveal a fresh and healthy looking skin.

OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel Review2From the December Glamourbox, I got a 30mL sample of the OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel. It was the first item I tried from the box and I’m so glad I did. I read from a blog somewhere (I can’t remember, sorry) that if you’re looking to try a new skin care range, start with their cleansers. You can pretty much judge if the entire range is safe enough to try from using their cleansers. According to the Glamourbox Info card, the OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel removes impurities, oil and makeup leaving the oiliest skin clean and fresh. And Glamourbox was right on this one. It promised and it delivered.

OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel Review3This cleanser comes in a pink gel, smells like one of those hotel shampoos–but that’s okay, forms a mild foam as you massage onto your wet face and rinses well without any residue. The second step to my double cleansing routine after removing my makeup with a cleansing oil, I use just a little amount with my Clarisonic Mia2. The result: a clean, fresh, radiant and happy skin.

I can only wish the sample size was bigger because this is too pricey for my budget. The full size is 200mL and retails for 3,465Php or almost 85Usd. I want a good cleanser that cleans my face well but not my savings.

I checked out StrawberryNet and Skincarerx and they sell it for half the price. Now how did that happen? But since I have a lot of cleansers to go through, I won’t be purchasing another one just yet. For now, I’ll be keeping this little sample in my travel kit.

Have you tried the OBAGI Nu-Derm Foaming Gel? Share your experience in the  comments below.

3 thoughts on “A Clean Start

Leave a Message

