Beauty Box · Fragrances · Hair care · Make-up · Skin care

January BDJ Box

Jan 2013 BDJ Box1Time to share what I got in my January BDJ Box! Well technically it’s supposed to be the December BDJ box but their system encountered a glitch and they couldn’t deliver the December box so they’re calling it the December-January BDJ Box. But I wanna call it the January BDJ BOX. That way it’s simple, less complicated and it’s the first box of the year, anyway.Jan 2013 BDJ Box17With the theme Beauty for the Better for JanuaryBDJ aims to help you start on your beauty resolutions and be a bit more adventurous with your overall look by trying a bright lipstick color or a bold nail polish to add a little punch to your style.Jan 2013 BDJ Box6

Flormar Long Wearing Lipstick (P349)

Finally a makeup item! Flormar is a Turkish cosmetic brand and from what I’ve read, this is a popular Eurpoean drusgtore brand. I got the shade L07 which is a bright pink shade, a good dupe to MAC’s Pink Noveau. It’s creamy, shiny, has moisturizing properties and highly pigmented so it packs on a lot of color when you swipe it on your lips. For a 350Php lipstick, I was quite impressed.
Jan 2013 BDJ Box18
Flormar Nail Enamel (P99)
Another impressive product from Flormar, this nail polish is fun to use. The 408 shade is a really nice bright, happy pink color bordering neon pink. The color is rich and glossy and the brush is smooth so it doesn’t create those annoying lines. I only applied two coats for the picture above.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box11

Snoe Beauty Beso Balm (149)
I’m all for Filipino brands and would support a good Filipino product so I was very excited to see a product from Snoe the BDJ box. This lip balm was the first item I tried from the box and I was really happy when it glided smoothly on my lips. It smelled really refreshing but the spearmint leaf extract was a bit too strong for me. It felt like Vicks on my lips. It’s not long lasting but that’s okay. What I found weird was my lips were drying after 20 minutes or so. I could feel the lines and a slight roughness when I pursed my lips, something I haven’t felt since I started using Be Zen Lip Glossy and Ettusais Lip Essence. I thought the name Beso Balm was really cute but I wasn’t so keen on the provocative copy on the label. I wouldn’t want to be asked by my kid cousin or niece what intense flirting means or if this lip balm is for “kissing”. Awkward.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box4

Etude House Moistfull Collagen Emulsion and Freshener (P628 each)
Oh Etude House! How you endear me with your remarkably cute packaging and comical names. Moistfull. I can’t help breaking into a smile. And a chuckle. It sounds so wrong but it’s so cute! The Moisfull series contains Baobab Tree Extract and Collagen to enhance skin elasticity and moisture retention. The Facial Freshener is a facial lotion or toner and it promises to remove make-up residue, excess sebum and tighten pores while the Emulsion is a light moisturizer. I’ve used Etude House products before but I’ve never tried anything from their skincare range. so this should be interesting.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box10

Pevonia Botanica Phyto-Gel Cleanser (P3,640)
I am as shocked and intimidated as you are. Okay, maybe you’re not. But I definitely am. I’m looking at this small sample and I’m scared to try it. It might break my heart to find out it’s really good then face the reality that I can’t afford it. Pevonia Botanica’s Phyto-Gel Cleanser is one of their star products. It contains natural plant extracts such as Burdock Root, Rosemary, and Sage which regulates skin moisture, balances oil production and unclogs pores leaving your skin smooth, clean and refreshed. It definitely sounds like a heart breaker.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box19

Pantene Pro-V All Day Smooth Miracle Water (P149)
My collection of hair products is building up and as much as I’m trying to veer away from silicone containing hair products, getting full size samples is not making it easy. The All Day Smooth Miracle Water has a nice soapy scent, it has a runny consistency and quickly absorbs as you apply. I feel this works better on slightly damp hair. It does a good job of locking in moisture making the hair more smooth and manageable. It doesn’t last all day so reapplication is needed but I feel like it just sits on dry hair and doesn’t absorb well. Dimethicone is its 2nd main ingredient so a good clarifying shampoo is needed to avoid hair build up.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box5

Tony Moly Broccoli Sprout Cleansing Cream (P478)
Tony Moly is a popular Korean brand with cute packaging like Etude House. I’ve never tried anything from the brand so this will be my first. I’m not a fan of cleansing creams as I feel they’re too heavy on my skin but this has antioxidants and skin repairing properties so, I’ll give it a try.
Tony Moly Tomatox Magic White Massage Pack (P548)
This is a face mask containing whitening and anti aging properties. It contain Tomato and Lemon extracts to even out skintone as well as Kiwi and White Tea Extracts to help prevent aging.
Jan 2013 BDJ Box12
Britney Spears Radiance (P3,398)
Getting a whiff of the Britney Spears Radiance perfume brought me back to the year 1999 when she was all sweet and innocent smiling and frolicking on the beach in her music video for the song “Sometimes”. It’s sweet, floral and fruity.

Jan 2013 BDJ Box15

Discount Coupons
I’ve collected quite a lot of these and I may have to give some away and let others use it as I’m trying to control my beauty spending this year. One of my beauty resolutions. Buy only what’s necessary and give or sell some away.

Did you make any beauty resolutions for 2013? Share in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “January BDJ Box

  1. whoa, that’s a LOT of stuff! I LOVE that nail color you got, it looks great on you! so glad I found you through WPweekends… love finding new blogs to follow (:

Leave a Message

