Skin care

L’Occitane Divine Cream

LOCCITANE Divine Cream1One item I’ve recently incorporated in my skin care regimen is the Divine Cream from L’Occitane which my friend Sachiko got me as a souvenir from her New York  trip last July. I’m now in my mid thirties and I can definitely see that my skin is not the same as it was 10 years ago. While my skin is finally clear from (adult) acne, there are new skin issues I have to deal with. Visible signs of aging such as brown spots, fine lines and dullness are now more obvious. I started venturing into products with anti aging properties when I turned 30 but I never took them seriously. Honestly, I don’t think topical cosmetics can reverse skin aging.LOCCITANE Divine Cream OpenTouted as the “miracle cream”, the Divine Cream is awarded best anti aging cream by magazine Harper’s Bazaar. It promises to “visibly correct all signs of ageing, for beautiful, younger-looking skin”. When I read about the successful results of their clinical test in the L’Occitane UK webstore, it actually convinced me to be more committed to using it regularly. But that’s not to say that I’m buying into their claims of erasing fine lines and smoothing out wrinkles or lifting effect.  Anyway, I was curious to see what miracle this cream could do to my skin.LOCCITANE Divine Cream SampleThe cream comes in a heavy, yellow gold glass tub that looks like royalty. It comes with a clear plastic spatula which I think is a bit short especially when you start getting to the bottom of the jar. You’re gonna have to use your fingers to get enough product. LOCCITANE Divine Cream_2The cream itself is very lightweight and you only need a little to cover the entire face. You might find the fragrance a bit strong but it’s not overpowering. I think its scent is probably the best thing about this cream. Every time I open it, the scent just lingers inside the room that it sets a relaxing mood.  The texture is creamy but doesn’t feel greasy when applied. In fact, it leaves your skin velvety soft to the touch. It moisturized the dry patches on my face and gave my skin a healthy glow. I think the pictures I took of the cream applied on my arm doesn’t really show the glow but it’s there. It’s not shiny or glossy but the skin looks hydrated and glowy. You can use it night and day just don’t forget to use a sunscreen or a base with SPF because this doesn’t have any.

After 2 week of using the cream, my skin’s overall complexion improved. But that’s about it. I didn’t see any other significant changes such as dark spots fading or fine lines disappearing. Was I disappointed that the cream didn’t deliver much? Not really. I think anti aging products need time (a lot of time) for it to show visible results depending on the skin’s condition.  Will I continue using the cream? Yes. It’s a great moisturizer that smells divine and I wanna wait it out till I finish it up to see if it’s done anything close to a miracle on my skin. Will I purchase one for myself? Sorry, I’m gonna have to pass. At $106, it’s crazy expensive. The market is swarming with plenty of anti aging moisturizers that are just as good or maybe even better at half the price.

Have you started using anti aging products?

2 thoughts on “L’Occitane Divine Cream

  1. Congrats Beejay on another fair and honest product review. 🙂 I started using anti-ageing creams 2 or 3 years ago. I’m turning 30 next year so I think to keep our skin youthful we should start in our mid 20’s or early 30’s when we start noticing changes in our skin’s plumpness or when it becomes dull and dry. I’m currently using Pond’s Gold Radiance youthful night repair. Although, maybe the result would show when used regularly, (which in my case I don’t strictly follow) I still love the feel of it when applied on my clean face. My face feels moisturized in the morning without looking shiny or oily. I’m not completely sure though if it’s the gold microparticles that’s doing the trick. But judging from our kumareng Cleopatra’s skin who was believed to have used gold to retain her youthful appearance mukha nga. Haha!

Leave a Message